jump to navigation

Portable Recordable February 8, 2010

Posted by Elisa Hough in Music.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

I got this little beauty in the mail today. Recommended to me by two of my favorite music teachers and my favorite audio geek friends, the Zoom H2 claims to record nearly CD-quality music without even external microphones. And it can fit in your pocket!

While in Okinawa, with the help of this little guy, we hope to record street performances, practice sessions, club shows, interviews, classroom music lessons, whatever we come across.

My ultimate goal is to turn these recordings into a few compilation CDs of Okinawan music, past and present. (And then, in a dream scenario, one of these gets released on Sublime Frequencies, or, if I shoot really high, Smithsonian Folkways. A girl can dream!)

Whatever the end result, Jojo and I will have come a long way since the first recording we ever made together. Recorded on the B-side of a “Little Critter” storybook cassette on my Fisher Price tape player circa 1995, I present to you the premiere of:

“Five Little Pumpkins”
Performed by Joseph Brandel
Produced and engineered by Elisa Hough

Comments»

1. okidu - February 9, 2010

brings tears to my eyes:===

2. Jono - February 12, 2010

When is this from? o_O

Elisa - February 12, 2010

I would guess 1994 or 1995. Hear someone speaking French in the background? Who is that?

3. A Silly Little Newscast « Adventures in Audio - May 23, 2011

[…] today (the 22nd, really), we had a big family gathering at my house. Continuing the tradition of cassette recordings of all the kids in my family, I had my youngest cousin, Taylor, record a news […]

4. Record Your Own Story Tape | Adventures in Audio - November 15, 2013

[…] Five Little Pumpkins (even earlier recording of Jojo singing) […]


Leave a Reply

