jump to navigation

Okinawa City International Festival February 21, 2010

Posted by Jojo in Music, Photos.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Yesterday I played my first show in Okinawa. The 20th “Annyal” Okinawa City International Festival was one of my best-attended gigs yet, topping most of the shows my band played at South By Southwest music festival in Austin.

The whole experience was pretty surreal since no one really understood what I was saying or singing about, but comforting since they didn’t notice when I messed up. It was awesome to say the least! I also got paid ¥3,000.

Most of the people there actually came to see What Up Dansu Kuru. They were great.

Afterward we all headed over to Michiko’s parents’ house for lunch and I played another show for her extended family in their front yard. Truly the best show ever! I offered all of the kiddies free guitar lessons, but they were all shy and only one kid came up and tried. To be fair, I would think some foreigner with a pink guitar was pretty weird, too.

Comments»

1. jonobr1 - February 22, 2010

What?! You’re already famous over there!


Leave a Reply

