jump to navigation

Ryukyu Reppin’ April 16, 2010

Posted by Elisa Hough in History, Other Arts.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

Now taking orders for T-shirts with this design, which I found on some city sign.

The circular design is a mitsudomoe, which is seen often in Japanese and Korean culture. It’s a Shinto symbol representing the relationship of man, earth and sky, and it was also adapted as the Ryukyu Kingdom‘s flag. Now you see it associated with Okinawan music, printed on taiko drums and costumes.

The bird? All I know is he kinda looks like Sam the Eagle from The Muppets.

No kidding, I really am taking orders. I’ll screenprint them by hand when I get home. I gotta start making some $$$!

Comments»

1. oraclemonkey - April 16, 2010

put me down for one, whenever you’re home and ready to ship.

2. Sally - April 16, 2010

I would like to order one for Nick, who is gonna need one of these for his birthday.

3. Pop - April 16, 2010

me, too!

4. Laserbeak - April 16, 2010

すきです。

5. jonobr1 - April 19, 2010

I want one!


Leave a Reply

